What are the steps to get into the airforce?

2013: I should of joined since I graduated high school. However, as I approached the airforce booth, a marine recruiter pulled me in on his booth about how great the Marines are. Then I last minute realized how much I wanted to be in the airforce.

2019: I am sick of working warehouse jobs, I have no home and can't finish an associate's degree. I know about taking the ASVAB. Do I walk in a airforce recruiting center and take the ASVAB? What if I want to do well, wait and study before walking in a center? Someone told me that I can sign up for it and then take my test a later date, is that how it works? What about the 2 year enlistment option, was that article for real? How do I find a recruiter, where are they?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Jason
    Lv 7
    2 months ago
    Best Answer

To my knowledge, the USAF has not offered a two-year option for at least ten years or more.

The process is pretty straightforward: You make an appointment (or just walk in) with a recruiter. They are all over the place. Search for "Armed Forces Career Center." Plenty of these offices have recruiters from all four branches there -- be mindful that you don't get sucked into something you don't want.

The recruiter will walk you through the steps and let you ask questions. They are salesmen: Their job is to sell you on a military career and fill a slot. Recruiters rarely lie outright, but like all salespeople, they're going to highlight the good parts and not talk about the bad parts. So do your own research and do it well -- you wouldn't buy a car or a house without knowing something about cars or houses and you don't just take the salesman's word for it. Don't sign a legally binding contract with the federal government without doing the same due diligence.