Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Consumer ElectronicsCameras · 2 months ago

which camera should i buy?

i know nothing about cameras and i'm taking my first photography class i chose the topic candles and my current camera is the PowerShot SX610 HS its has 20.2 megapixels and 18X zoom, my teacher told me that my camera will not work and that i should try getting a proffesional camera. so i went online and i found the canon EOS 1300D and the canon EOS 750 D and the canon EOS 4000 D what do you guys think i should buy? (im a beginner) the main thing i want to be good in the camera is the focus, i want it to have a blurry background. i really want something affordable

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago
    Best Answer

Just get yourself an affordable pre-owned DSLR, even those from 10 years ago in beginners hands took excellent quality photos.  High megapixel count usually means more image noise on small sensors. We used to be fine with just 6 or 10mp on larger sensors.  Only if you want to print a huge billboard do you need very high megapixels on a large sensor.

if you're in North America look here:

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/801887970-U...

put an 18-55mm kit lens on it.  Teachers love these older ones because they are easy to instruct on manually.

Or a smaller more modern mirrorless camera like this one that would be a lot easier to take with you everywhere.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/802036023-U...

again, put an 18-55mm kit lens (in Sony E Mount) onto it.

You could still do all that's necessary with a 1.5" sensor Canon G1X compact, but the teachers prefer to have interchangeable lenses available.

• 2 months ago

I would recommend buying the EOS 250D. I think its the best beginner's DSLR Canon has to offer. The 18-55mm kit lens is pretty decent as well for creating bokeh effects, but a second-hand lens would be better for that purpose. The 250D is also quite affordable.

• hooray
      Lv 5
      2 months agoReport