i cAnT saVE mOneYY HELP?

Everytime payday comes I seem to spend it all online within a matter of a week. It's so annoying and I feel guilty. I am a college student and I live with my parents yet. I need to save up for a better car (current one is falling apart) and for a future. HELP. What can I do???? I can put money aside (in savings) but I usually tap into that when I realize I have no gas but I spent up all my checking account on fun things.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Stoo
    Lv 7
    4 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Ultimately you will have to develop some willpower to stop impulsive decisions. But in the meantime purge all accounts of credit card information so you can't just impulse buy on a whim. Put your credit card somewhere that's difficult to access so you deliberately have to get it. That way you have time to ask yourself whether the purchase is something you really need or whether you really have the money for it now. Reward yourself occasionally so you're not feeling too miserable and miserly - when you hit a savings goal, budget yourself a treat from that. But online shopping in particular tries to make it easy to impulse by, and if you do you'll be bankrupt in a hurry.

• Jules4 months agoReport

I definitely think its the willpower that is an issue for me. I watch influencers online buy everything they want and I turn arouhd and feel like I need to do the same. I think it's a generation problem. Ill try your tips, thx.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 4 months ago

Give some money every payday to your parents to hold for you.

• NONAME
    Lv 7
    4 months ago

I see your in college yet you have not learned the most important lesson...we are all in debt...all the time...we never get out..there is no getting out until you embrace it..take even more chances. more loans for dreams and ideas...put yourself more into debt..and dont worry about it...now dont let things go unchecked...but usually you can pay what you have and not more

• Pam
    Lv 6