Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureEtiquette · 3 months ago

How should I quit my job after 3 days?

I'm a freshman in college; I just got here not even 3 weeks ago. I definitely bit off more than I can chew when I signed up to work 4 nights a week from 8:45pm-1:30am in one of the campus dining centers. It's only been three days but it's already seriously affecting my schoolwork and my mental health. Can I quit effective immediately over email?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 months ago

wouldn't do it via e-mail, but I would talk to the supervisor and explain why you need to quite.

• 3 months ago

I'm sure we can all see how hard this is, but I don't see how it can really be 'seriously affecting your mental health' after only 3 days.

However, if you're determined to leave, do it the grown up way, talking to your supervisor, explaining how you feel (but not complaining: after all, you knew the hours before you started) and if necessary, giving formal two-weeks' notice.

• 3 months ago

thats up to you but if you dont give them a 2 wks notice you wont be able to use them for references

• Foofa
    Lv 7
    3 months ago

Go in and have a real conversation with your supervisor about this. Yes you're not resigning from some very important position, but they way you approach this will set you up for being more responsible in later life. It's customary to give a written letter of resignation and a two weeks notice. But if you explain yourself in person you can probably arrange to leave this job sooner.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • drip
    Lv 7
    3 months ago

A dining hall that is open until 1:30!!

You need to put your resignation in writing and give it to your boss. You should give them a two week notice. You can ask that you be off the schedule as soon as possible. You can also ask if you can do a different time shift, weekends only or only one or two days per week.