Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelEurope (Continental)Other - Europe · 3 months ago

Could I survive in Europe?

I’m from the United States. I’m in a serious relationship with a girl from Lithuania. We talked of us moving to Europe. I have a Bachelor’s in Business. Could I survive in Europe? Not only am I concerned about finding a job, but I’m also concerned about standard of living... I need beaches, craft beer, American football, fun activities, etc. Don’t need the big house, fancy car, or big meals.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 months ago
    Best Answer

You don't 'need' any of those things; but all exist in Europe.

If you want to move to join your girlfriend, you'll need to get married, and she'll need to be able to sponsor your visa for the country you're settling in. Do you speak any European language other than English?

• 2 months ago

You'll also need to know that US citizens pay income tax while abroad, even if you earn your money abroad. They will tax any pension payments, they will tax any capital gains, and they will force you to divulge any foreign bank accounts to TWO different authorities (the Treasury and the IRS don't talk with each other).

You'll find that all these things combined with the difficulty of finding a company willing to fill out all the IRS junk will be no fun, no matter how much boinking you can do.

From your explanation, you wouldn't be happy there. You're simply too American. That's not an insult. It's an observation that very few Americans can survive outside the country for any length of time. They're simply too unwilling to accept other customs.

By the way - I've lived in Europe for over 35 years and I haven't seen a single game of American football on TV.

• Orla C
    Lv 7
    3 months ago

In addition to all of the great information provided above, understand this: Europe is NOT a country, and it is the country that issues the employment visa.

• 3 months ago