How do I pay taxes on my UBER Eats earnings?

Hello!

I've been driving for Uber Eats since March 18th 2019. I do about 24-25 hours a week. I don't have a traditional W-2 job at the moment as I'm working on building a small business out of my house.

So far, I've grossed about 7.1k for Uber Eats. I don't know how long I will be doing this for though -- could be one more year or one more month. I really don't know.

My question is: what do in terms of paying my taxes on the Uber Eats earnings? Can I wait til the end of the year? Or am I required to make estimated payments?

ANY help would be greatly appreciated.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 months ago

Estimate how much tax you will owe in April. If it's more than $1,000, start making the required quarterly estimated tax payments to avoid penalties and interest. If you won't owe tax, then you don't have to worry about anything other than filing the necessary return showing that to be the case.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 10 months ago

You should be filing quarterly estimated payments, or you'll owe too much when you file. If you owe over $1000 when you file, you are subject to penalties.

• curtisports2
      Lv 7
      10 months agoReport

Unless this person sees a sudden spike in activity the last four months of the year, there is NO WAY their NET earnings will exceed the $12,000 standard deduction. They won't owe a penny of federal income tax. The SE tax is collected annually, not periodically.

• 10 months ago

What are your PROFITS, not your gross earnings? If this is the only work you've had all year, you won't be owing any federal income tax, so no periodic estimated payments are necessary, but you will owe self-employment tax of roughly 15% on your yearly NET income. I hope you've kept accurate records.

• 10 months ago