What is a Common area in a house?

So my two friends and I are moving into a 3bed 2.5 bath townhome next week. All our bedrooms are upstairs. I have a master bedroom and they share the bathroom upstairs. The half bath is on the ground floor.

They are trying to tell me that their bathroom is a “common area” of the house but I’m saying that

I will not be using their bathroom nor would my guests be. The bathroom downstairs is a common area. Anyone and everyone will be using it. But my two roommates and their guests will be using their bathroom and myself and my friends would use mine. My roommates are the only ones using that bathroom and their guests.

Would their bathroom be considered a common area?

Thank you!

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 months ago

A hall bath is a common area. Any area the tenant does not have exclusive rights to is a common area.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 10 months ago

The bathroom (unless it's an en-suite) is a common area

• Ti
    Lv 7
    10 months ago

Not if there is a half-bath downstairs that is available to guests.

• Lolly
    Lv 7
    10 months ago

Their bathroom is a "limited" common area. Limited to them.

The same thing occurs in condos - a balcony can be owned as a common area to the attached owner and the condo association itself.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 10 months ago

Wow - this is all too complicated for me. Best I can say is you all sit down together and try to come to a mutually agreeable plan. Especially if all 3 are on the Lease and there is no 'principal lessor'. I suppose this applies to who cleans what? At least you have more than the one bathroom!!

Is it worth getting upset about any of this? For me, ANY facilities, from kitchen to bathrooms etc., under the same roof should be available to all those on the Lease Agreement.

• Judy
    Lv 7
    10 months ago

no...............................................

• Pearl
    Lv 7