Considering what's happening in the Amazon, do you intend to plant more trees in your own area?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 months ago

No, we're doing "timber stand improvement" to get rid of some of the regenerated species that have clogged up our local forest in the past 100 years or so.

I'm already surrounded by more trees than the soils will bear, so in the past year we've just had a couple thousand trees cut and sent out to become boards, firewood or chips. One of our cutters averages about 300 trees per day, if it's not too steep.

There are approximately 1,000 new trees per acre already sprouting in the area we cut last year, all from natural seed. Some future generation will be able to thin them out as necessary and appropriate.

• 3 months ago

our house is full of plants including tree's i enjoy gardening despite im new to the hobby but i do indoor gardening for the past year trying to take things outdoor due to cost of running lights and fans and space. i also enjoy it because a lot of houses here in Hawaii don't actually have gardens you drive around a neighborhood and you will see most homes lack an actual garden they have space for it but they usually don't use it or paved over it.

my grandpa owns the house and likes to garden so i don't mess with it but when i have to take over i will be a complete landscape to make it look nice and healthy. right now our garden is just a bunch of random plants both alive and dead/dying but needs a TON of work and is also filled with diseases and pests.

• 3 months ago

No. The Amazon has no bearing on my decisions to plant trees here in the temperate US. Plus the Amazon rainforest will grow back in nothing flat. Forest fires are a natural process and in some types of forests are essential for the proper growth of the forest. This is just PC hype / knee - jerk reaction by naive people who really don't understand how forests work.

• 3 months ago