Can a foreign author make it to the new York times best sellers ?

I am a famous writer in my country, I've been always dreaming about a succesful writing career in the U.S , I can describe my english as excellent despite living in a non-english country, and I write fantasy novels that people usually regard as "delicious" . what are my chances in each of the traditional and self-publishing routes?E-books? How does the publishing field deal with foreigners. All brief information given regarding this matter will be greatly appreciated

13 Answers

Relevance
  • Speed
    Lv 7
    4 months ago
    Favorite Answer

I rarely disagree with Steven Pemberton (it's pretty shocking!), but if you want to be on the New York Times' bestseller list, you have to be trade published rather than self-published. That means a Big Five US (or major UK) publisher (or both) and a literary agent, because the Times list counts sales in brick-and-mortar stores.

Publishers at that level invest a lot in edits and production values, as well as distribution and marketing. Your sales are likely to be magnitudes higher than self-published works, i.e., hundreds of thousands rather than tens, or tens rather than single digit thousands.

Of course, you have to write a book that US readers are going to enjoy, and its English has to be not only fluent but natural when it comes from American characters or narrator. (For the record, while I understood your question here fully, its English wasn't natural and contained minor errors.) Your books do not have to be set in the US or feature American characters, of course.

Agents and publishers are open to great books without regard to the country the author calls home.

• Steven J Pemberton
      Lv 7
      4 months agoReport

I didn't say self-published authors can appear on the NYT list, though I could've worded my answer more clearly. I agree that the questioner's English, while good for a non-native, is not up to publication standard.

• 3 months ago