promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHigher Education (University +) · 9 months ago

Should I take a nurse practitioner route or UX Research/Design?

I graduated from my under graduated in psych 5 years ago an have worked in various non-profits with a strong focus in health care/behavioral health. I worked with a lot of Nurse Practitioners and have been working towards taking pre-reqs and gaining experience to apply to grad school. I do feel like this is a safe route for me and I am afraid I may feel boxed in as being an NP. I recently started exploring UX Research/Design careers that seem appealing. What appeals to me is that it can allow me to be creative and has aspects of psychology. I like the idea of being able to work different projects as well and with different companies. I was thinking of applying to both programs and seeing what happens. I have better chances of getting into NP schools. I’m feeling stuck and seeking any advice/insight. I guess I am ultimately afraid of wasting time even though I’m sure no choice is a wrong choice.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 months ago

As others have said, becoming a nurse practitioner requires you to go to nursing school first. You would also be at a great disadvantage finding jobs if you go back to school to get your RN and go straight to a nurse practitioner program. You would also likely be doing a disservice to your patients as many of those programs rely on students having a good amount of nursing experience. If you do not have your RN you should look into physician assistant programs. PAs have a virtually identical scope of practice but PA school does not require a nursing degree and most programs include much more clinical experience to bridge the gap of not having prior nursing experience. This option will likely be faster and cheaper.