Why didn t the ss throw the man at 2nd out then when he went to 3rd?
Mariners had a man on 2nd and the batter ground out to short stop and the man was out at 1st but the man at 2nd went to 3rd . You don t have to throw the man going to first do you?
- 6 months ago
You take the easier out, always.
- gods creationLv 56 months ago
either the ss forgot about runner on second or, wanted a sure out.
- curtisports2Lv 76 months ago
Of course you have to throw the man out at first if you want to get him out. Fundamental baseball says that you always try to get the lead runner out if you can. If the shortstop felt the man on second would be out at third, he would have gladly given up the easy out at first base. Fail in that and now you have runners at third and first. So he wisely let the man take third and took the easy out at first.
From the runner's side of things, if the man on second didn't think he could make it to third, he wouldn't have taken off for third, he'd have stayed where he was.
From the batter's side of things, if you can't hit safely, you want to advance the baserunners. That happened here. The batter was out but he advance a man one base.
From the official scorer's side of things, this could have been recorded as a sacrifice if he felt that the batter intentionally gave himself up to advance the runner.
- KathyLv 76 months ago
The man on 2nd was not a force out, so the short stop had to throw to 1st base for the force out. That gave the runner on 2nd to run to 3rd base.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- 18 gibbs 20Lv 76 months ago
The SS can try to throw to third. But it's a tag play. The third baseman has to get to third to cover. In these days of shifts he could have been far from the base. And the runner at second gets a big lead and a good jump. All that makes the play difficult. More difficult than throwing to first.
The rule of thumb for the runner is if the ball is hit in front if him he doesn't try to advance. If it's hit behind him he goes.
- KaleyKLv 76 months ago
You're referring to the 5th inning of today's game against the Rays. Crawford was on 2nd and Nola hit a ground ball to Adames. Adames threw out Nola at first and Crawford moved over to third on the play.
The shortstop made the decision to take the "easy out" at first base. It's easier because it's a force out and the batter is usually far slower to get to first than any base runner moving to the next base (the base runner has a lead and can be running when the ball impacts the bat; the batter has to recover from the swing and has a full 90 feet o run). This is where the term "fielder's choice" comes from. Adames made the choice to throw to first rather than attempt to throw out the runner moving to third. In any event, Seager grounded out and stranded the runner so Adames made a good choice.Source(s): Long-suffering Mariners fan