Timing 04 altima 2.5 L?

Is their a default position I can put the crankshaft and camshafts in to ensure the timing is correct? I'm aware that for my car atleast when it's in top dead center the lobes on camshafts point outwards, I just dont know if they are always pointing outwards at tdc. If the revolutions of camshaft and crankshaft are to 1 to 1 it should work but i dont know if they are. If they arent 1 to 1 would I still be able to just put them in that position or would that mess something else due to the timing of something else. If that's not a valid solution how do you suggest fixing the timing if the crankshaft was moved an unknown amount accidentally after camshafts were removed? Please dont suggest professional help I'm a really poor college student. Thanks for any help :)

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 months ago

There are timing marks on the crankshaft cam belt drive gear and on the camshaft gear. You're going to bend all your valves if you don't know what you're doing. Watch a youtube video for replacing the timing belt on your vehicle. It would have been better to just leave the timing belt alone then chance messing the complete motor up!

Source(s): Mitsubishi Master Tech / Infiniti Tech
    • Dan
      Lv 4
      4 months agoReport

It doesn't have a timing belt.

• Anonymous
    4 months ago

A Haynes manual will tell you all you need to know about timing marks. It will pay for itself quickly too.

• Anonymous
    4 months ago

You're a college student and you don't know the difference between ''is there'' and ''is their''? Whoops.

If you're smart enough to get into college you should also be smart enough to buy a used repair manual for your car. At the very least you should be able to find a YouTube video.

• Jon4 months agoReport

Well I scored top 97% on the SAT, and I'm more concerned about my car than spelling, also smart enough to realize a simple post on Yahoo answers is easier than the other **** mentioned so thanks fag

• 4 months ago