Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHigher Education (University +) · 5 months ago

I've noticed a lot of Computer Science majors I've graduated with don't have C.S. jobs. Is that normal?

I'll give examples of 5 C.S. graduates I got a Bachelor's degree with.

Person 1: has been looking for a C.S. job for 6 months and doesn't have one

Person 2: looked for a C.S. job for a few months, but couldn't find one and decided to try to get a Master's.

Person 3: has a job not closely related to C.S.

Person 4: quit his programming job because they wanted him to move a lot

Person 5: has a C.S. job but might quit it because she thinks it's too stressful

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    5 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Based upon my experience, yes. I have my MS. A year after graduation, most of the folks I knew who graduated with me were either job hunting, had given up, or were underemployed in barely-related fields (like the guy who got a job selling computers to schools with Dell). The market is saturated.

• Login to reply the answers
  • cool
    Lv 6
    5 months ago

Even if you had a faculty run by Donald Knuth, John Carmack, it would be impossible to produce a 'computer scientist' from a four year degree.

Knuth and Carmack were programming (or at least problem solving) since they first learned to read and write. They are also extremely intelligent.

That is why they are world-class engineers.

University cannot increase raw intelligence, nor can it replicate the skills of a lifelong hobbyist.

#1 should get a job (as employers do not like gaps) but still look for CS jobs.

#2 should also get a job and forget the masters. Getting a masters only adds to your prospects if you were already able to get a job with a bachelors. If getting a masters becomes a last resort, employers will pick up on that. It might sound harsh to say it, but education can sometimes make a person seem less qualified.

#3 should look for CS jobs (if they want one)