promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureEtiquette · 9 months ago

“That wasn’t intended to disparage you”: acceptable apology for an insult?

One of my (perhaps former) friend sends unsolicited political emails to a group of people. The latest one included false and disparaging statements about a political leader (for allegedly saying things that are wrong) and included a summary: “Well, she is a graduate of X University!” (meaning that its graduates are morons).

I graduated from X University.

I emailed back and said, “Sounds like I should have gone to Y University to stay on your good side- hope your week is going well!” (Y University is where the politician’s bitter rival went, and my friend supports the rival.)

My friend replied, “That wasn’t intended to disparage you.”

Is that an apology? Is it an acceptable apology? I think not.

X University is near the top of the US News rankings; I’m not a moron and my classmates aren’t either.

Thanks.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Foofa
    Lv 7
    9 months ago

If you and this friend are unwise enough to delve into politics, yeah, this didn't need to happen and should be quickly resolved with an apology. Chances are great that politics don't have any real influence over your daily lives and hanging on the words of elected officials and candidates is no more reverent to most people than what Kim Kardashian had for breakfast. This sudden obsession with politics, largely by people who don't have understand the basics of how government functions, is just a ploy to get us to all be fighting each other instead of paying attention to the gross corruption all politicians are up to.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 9 months ago