Do you need to know a little math in order to built a building?

I want to built a skyscraper but i'm not that good at math

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 months ago

Yes. You need a huge knowledge of math in order to build a building. When you know a little math, your building might collapse easily.

• 4 months ago

I wouldn't go into your building.

• 4 months ago

Yes. Math is needed.

• 4 months ago

What do you mean by building a skyscraper? Of course you could hire people to do every part of the work, including the math … but then you'd have to have a LOT of money.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 4 months ago

I would say yes. You do not need to be a designer of a building in order to build it (designing definitely requires math), but you still have to be able to do some basic math to do the actual physical measurements correctly. Never mind a skyscaraper, just renovating the basement requires a little math.

• Julien
    Lv 7
    4 months ago

Building big monuments was actually one of the main reason the Greeks invented maths, so yes some maths are needed.

Nothing extremely complicated, but still a few university-level courses. A bit of linear algebra, a bit of ODE and PDE, Fourier and Laplace transforms, things like this.

• 4 months ago

That really doesn't make any sense. Though one of the first jobs men had was an architect a caveman did not expect to build a skyscraper.

• JOHN
    Lv 7
    4 months ago