Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferencePrimary & Secondary Education · 11 months ago

Should I take Calculus 2 as a senior? HELP!!?

I’m currently a sophomore in precalculus and my buddy dropped out to take algebra 2 instead. He did this because next year we would be obligated to take AP Calculus AB as juniors (our school doesn’t have BC) and then AP Statisitcs senior year. Him and his counselor claim AP statistics is useless for the medical field (we wanna get health majors).

However, to my knowledge, AP Calculus AB only covers Calculus 1. If I take Calculus 2 at my local community college, would that be of worth? I’m assuming yes, because I get college credit without even taking the AP test right?

Also, would I be saving money if I go to a university straight after highschool and transfer the credits from Calculus 2? What would the class be like? (one senior said it’s around a 3 hour class, but I don’t think that’s everyday). Also, share any extra info PLEASE. Whoever can answer all my questions will get best answer THANK YOU.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 11 months ago
    Favorite Answer

First of all, AP Stats is absolutely helpful for a pre-med major. Most bio, chem, etc. programs require a statistics class, sometimes two, and AP would fill the requirement for the intro level class.

If you aren't sure, look at the requirements of a few colleges around you that you might be considering. But I bet they include a Statistics course.

However, Calc II is also very useful and usually required as well. Yes, taking it at a local community college would be functionally the same as taking it at your high school as far as credits go. The credits will transfer and you will not need to take the class again. Community college classes are much cheaper than university classes, although typically much more expensive than an AP exam.