Royal asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 6 months ago

Is joining the NG or reserves worth it for me?

I joined active airforce as a Fireman at 18 and got out at 20 with a general discharge for underage drinking. Now I m 28, i work as a FF/paramedic and make good money, have a wife and 3kids and am taking pre med classes with my GI bill. The general discharge has not affected me at all professionally. It has affected my mind in that it is a splinter or blemish that will never go away. I talked to an army recruiter who stated I could join the NG or reserves and come out with a fully honorable discharge. or should I just try and move on ?

Note I would probably have to do basic again and go to tech school again. Also i doubt I can upgrade my discharge.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Move on and get over it.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 6 months ago

Think about it, you want to up end your life, put your family through whatever, leave them for however long, abandon whatever career you are presently in, all so you can feel better about yourself. You were young and dumb and made a mistake. You're 28, you should be mature enough to forgive yourself for **** and not care what it says on some stupid paper. It's not worth it, mate. It doesn't sound like anybody is giving you **** about it except yourself. If you want to feel better about it, see a counselor.

• 6 months ago