Can anyone help me understand how to use a flash for real estate photography?

I’m a beginner so I need a cheap flash (I have a canon rebel t6 camera). I’ve watched YouTube videos on different flashes, for example the yongnuo flashes. But I’m just very confused on how it works. Do I need a separate trigger? Or is there a flash with a built in trigger? How can I use a flash when shooting multiple exposures?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 months ago

Use available light. Set your camera on a tripod and take several exposures 2 stops under, 1 stop under, normal, 1 stop over, 2 stops over. Then use a free HDR program to stitch them together.

• 4 months ago

"But I’m just very confused on how it works."

A lot of the speedlight / flash reviews are from people who are using them as part of a studio setup - they've got multiple flash units and triggers, and it's completely irrelevant to you! Take Keerok's advice to get something with full TTL support (that just means the flash can be controlled by the camera) and use as many auto settings as possible!

I'm a fan of Yongnuo flashes, but the instructions aren't great - allow yourself a bit of time to work out how to use it to its full potential.

<edit>

It looks like a lot of the marketing blurb is aimed at potential studio users too - it's very confusing! The YN600EX RT is the most powerful model, though the YN565EX II will do everything you need.

• John P
      Lv 7
      4 months agoReport

You should experiment in various rooms at home with several settings on flash and camera before offering services to photograph property for real estate sales. Remember, whatever the property, no matter what price, you must try to make it "look a million dollars". That is art, not techie stuff.

• keerok
    Lv 7
    4 months ago