Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Pregnancy & ParentingParenting · 1 year ago

Do you agree or disagree with the way my dad thinks?

I'm 25 and financially independent. I have a Bachelor's degree. I make $60,000/year. I feel like I can live comfortably. My dad always says things like "you could be doing so much better. You should try to get a job that pays $100,000 or more. Go get a Master's degree". His job pays over $200,000. He acts extremely unhappy with me. He's always like "you don't do anything".

6 Answers

Relevance
  • A.J.
    Lv 7
    1 year ago
    Favorite Answer

Your dad is in the 97 percentile, if usa. That is, only 3% earn more. He is part of an era that exploits workers proven in charts since the 1980's at least. He is approximately from my generation. We grew up in a different time. With inflation accounted for at the start of my career I was earning a little more than you, and I did go part time for an MBA and with job performance, education credentials, and a drive to succeed, I also got to 6 figures salary and retired young about 10 years ago, and live comfortably in Las Vegas. That was my choice set.

Your dad is not wrong, but he is different. We are each a bit different. He's only wrong to the extent of not allowing you to choose your life path. His advice extends into commands, probably not unlike his job. He is not treating you as a son/daughter, and instead treats you like a subordinate.

Now, $60K@25yo is excellent. You seem satisfied with it. $60K in some places is tight and in others it is well off. You can look at the potential in your career to do better.

I will offer my experience and wisdom in a bottom line.

You need to do what makes YOU happy. You are an adult and you are not your dad. Sure, my parents wanted me to earn more, but they were proud when I was awarded my MBA and they were happy that I was happy. Hopefully, your dad only wants the best for you, and really, the best is that which makes you happy.