Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsBaseball · 1 year ago

Can a batter run hit a double by running across the diamond from home plate directly to 2nd base without going to 1st at all?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • TedEx
    Lv 7
    1 year ago
    Favorite Answer

    A batter who becomes a runner must touch all bases in order. In your example, the batter would be out for failing to touch first base

  • 1 year ago

    Yes he can run straight to 2nd base without touching 1st. However he must say Please! and Thank You. Good manners are a must in baseball!

  • Greg
    Lv 6
    1 year ago

    No, first base has to be touched first or else the runner will get called out.

  • Anonymous
    1 year ago

    There's been games where outs were recorded because runners failed to touch bases when they were running the base paths. There is a 'ground rule double' where a player hits the ball and it hits the back wall of the stadium w/o going out of the park. It's pretty much accepted that the batter will advance to 2nd base. However, he still must touch 1st on his way, and if he's too slow getting to 2nd, the defensive team can still throw him out.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Das
    Lv 4
    1 year ago

    No......................

  • Kathy
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

    No, they must go to first base first.

  • 1 year ago

    No., The bases must be touched in order.

  • 1 year ago

    No, that cannot be done, one has to run within the baselines.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.