What's the best way to get started on buying a house you plan to sell?

I'm 25 in California and I am looking to invest in a house. My plan was to buy a house in need of remodeling, in a good neighborhood, and live in it while I fix it up and resale. (I have 8 years of construction experience) I have $10k saved up, a 720 credit score and was looking towards getting an FHA loan. The main thing I was wondering is how to fund the remodel, when my whole savings would be tied up in the house, when to refinance, and what type of loans to go after. I was planning to sale on a 1031 exchange but not sure if it would be ideal to do it on a first house.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

not likely going to happen, there are rehab loans, but harder to qualify for....unless you have other collateral or enough income to support it.

start smaller. a condo in my area is selling about about 25% less than the market rate of renovated units. if it were to be bought by someone who can do the work themselves (including plumbing and electric) I estimate they can take home about 15K within 6 months when they flip it...that is physically putting in about 2-3 weeks actual work (the rest of the time is city rough inspections, final inspections, sitting on the market...paying property tax/utilities for those months.

less money is needed for the work since its only a 1 bedroom condo (no roof, heater provided by HOA, no outdoor painting)

even if you can do 3.5% down ...you need to pay closing costs....

save enough for closing costs, down payment, $5000 to start the work...make sure you can save some extra each month if materials are more than that.

at best right now you can buy for 150k (assuming you even qualify for that mortgage).

• 6 months ago