Why is Science so much like religion?

once Scientists have an idea like Scientific Materialism, no matter how irrelevant it becomes in the face of new evidence, they just won't let it go despite the evidence to The Contrary.

37 Answers

Relevance
  • 11 months ago
    Favorite Answer

cause people made them similar

• Joseph
    Lv 6
    11 months ago

It isn't, not at all. Science demands proof with reproducible results.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 11 months ago

I don't hear many scientists talk about "scientific materialism". Usually that term is bandied about by anti-scientists - like those at the Discovery Institute for example. I have a degree in physics and never once heard the term used in my academic studies.

So tell me, what are you calling "scientific materialism"? What "new evidence" refutes it? Also, please give an example of a scientists that adheres to it in-spite of this evidence. That way I'll understand what the hell you are talking about.

My understanding of what is meant by "scientific materialism" is the idea that only the natural world exists. I would argue that the natural world is the only thing subject to the scientific method and therefore the only thing subject to the professional inquiry of scientists. If there is anything supernatural then science cannot explain it.

The Discovery Institute seems to define "scientific materialism" as the denial that humans were created by God and the acceptance of Biological Evolution. If that is your definition then which side is obscurantist and "like religion".

• ...Show all comments
    • jeffrcal
      Lv 7
      11 months agoReport

I think I do understand what theoretical physics is. I also understand how that is distinct from philosophy.

Anyway, you didn't answer my questions or provide an example so I can understand you.

• Cowboy
    Lv 6
    11 months ago