Could I ever afford this?

I'm 2 years away from graduating high school in Scotland. I really REALLY want to go to university in america. I come from a very low-income family. A majority of my expenses will have to scholarships/grants, for international students and working during study. I am currently doing quite well in school, for reference in my exams I sat this year I got 4 A's and a C with legit no revision. I am sitting my SAT's next March and I am studying my *** off for them. This is something I really want and I'm determined to work extremely hard for. Also, I know this isn't going to be easy at all, but I guess what I'm asking is is this worth trying for? Has anyone got ant tips or helpful advice? Thanks

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago

If you're doing 'quite well', you're unlikely to get enough scholarships to cover the huge costs of doing so; and working options are very limited on a student visa.

A more affordable model might be to see if you can find a Scottish uni offering a year or term abroad

• Login to reply the answers
  • drip
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

Oh kiddo this isn’t going to work

The total cost to attend an US University is $40,000-$70,000 USD per year. And that can easily be higher depend on the university.

There are very few scholarships/grants for international students. Getting some doesn’t mean they are going to cover the total cost of attending. Just a fraction of it. Besides fees, tuition, and text books you will to pay for

Dorm supplies, school supplies, personal expenses, laundry, health insurance (which will NOT cover all your health/medical expenses) transportation to name a few.

Work study, few international students are allowed. You must work on campus for less than 20 per week and your are not guaranteed 20 hours each and every week. Campus jobs go fast.

You would need to apply, be accepted, prove you can pay , then apply for a student visa.