Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicJazz · 11 months ago

What am I doing wrong? Do I suck?

I ve been playing trumpet since 5th grade, and I ve always been 1st trumpet since 8th grade when i decided to not redo a test and brought me down to 2nd trumpet. In high school, freshman year I played 3rd trumpet with some of my other friends. I am now a sophomore and I am still 3rd trumpet! Everyone else moved up to 2nd trumpet. What did I do wrong? Do I suck? How can I get better parts? How can I move up?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Kyle
    Lv 7
    11 months ago

this is something you can ask your music teacher too. i was in a similar situation. especially for jazz big band. i was good in middle school, then in high school i started in the lowest band level, and only got to the highest in junior and senior year, but i had to switch from alto my main to tenor, because there were other alto players better than me.

that's just the way it goes. it's not anything you're doing wrong, it's just the director wants the strongest members in their bands to sound the best. first char isn't always everything, sure they may get the melody all the time, or maybe some solos, but without the other chair positions, you don't get those cool harmony sounds. sure i would have loved to play first alto, but when i was 2nd Tenor, i got some cool parts that included me learning how to double on flute, and on soprano sax as well. and in that chart, i even got a solo and another soli with a trumpet player as well.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 11 months ago

Take some private lessons from a fine qualified teacher - degree in music, major in trumpet. Maybe a few is enough - but once you see how much help they are, you will be addicted!!