Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicPolls & Surveys · 6 months ago

Should I give up on my dream?

I’m 22 years old, and ever since I was 16, I’ve wanted nothing but to be a published author. I’ve written three books, and I’m currently writing my fourth. I’ve been working for 6 years straight working on these books, pouring everything I have into these books, and lately, I’ve been feeling very discouraged. I sent out a little excerpt of my fourth book to be critiqued. While I got a lot of positive reviews, I got some bad ones that tore at my heart. I feel like I’m not good enough, like I will never be good enough to be published. I respect peoples’ opinions, but I can’t help but to be heartbroken. Should I just give up on my dream? Am I being stupid to even think I have a chance?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

if you're not ridiculously talented, and you throw yourself out there right away, then chances are, you probably won't earn enough to make a living. in doing so, your lifestyle would probably end up quite "precarious'. like lets say you make good money for a few months, can pay rent, etc. but then your next book doesn't do so well, and then you're living on the edge for a while *cough* *poor* until things start up again. (and since all writing is, (is) rewriting, then you can't predict when you'll have good stuff and when you won't.

the problem with art is comparison. i don't think any artist is completely satisfied with their work. and for me personally, when i'm stuck in a rut, i'll just stop for a while, and then start up again. there are so many writers. good and bad. and overall, just lots of competition. especially since you have ebooks. and many many people wanting to be published. and since you don't have a platform, (i'm assuming), then you have to start from the very bottom with tons of other people with different stuff in the same boat as you.