my4
Lv 5
my4 asked in Education & ReferenceFinancial Aid · 6 months ago

Getting money from colleges?

I’ll be starting down the college path soon with my kids. We have 2 sets of twins and there’s no way we can pay tuition x4. I’ll absolutely have them apply for scholarships. My question is, how do colleges decide how much $$ they are willing to give a student? Is it based on grades? Grades and parents finances? What about our financial situation of have 2 sets a twins a year apart? Unfortunately people sitting at a computer all day make huge paychecks while people like me & my husband, a teacher & fire fighter, make pennies.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • nancy
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

I can certainly sympathize. I used to be a baker and there was no way I could afford college on a baker's salary. I ended up switching careers and became a professional financial aid administrator because I had to learn so much about financial aid to make sure my daughter could go to college that I figured I might as well get paid for it!. There is no simple answer to your question. Colleges all have their own financial aid packaging policies that reflect their own resources and priorities. There are two types of aid: need based and merit based, and determining eligibility for each of them is usually different. Most colleges use the FAFSA (and sometimes the CSS Profile) as the basis for determining financial aid. The FAFSA does take into consideration your family's income, the number in the family and the number who will be in college. It also includes other factors, such as where you live, the taxes you pay, the age of the parents, whether there are one wage earner or two, your assets, whether you paid or received child support, etc. It also has asset and income protection allowances built into the formula. All that information is used to calculate the EFC: Expected Family Contribution. Despite its name, this is NOT what you are expected to pay the school. It is the amount you would ne