Taking care of family on EMT salary?

Hello, I guess my question is aimed more towards current or former EMS workers. I'm a single mother currently in school.Is it possible to take care of two small kids on EMT salary? I was wanting to pick up a trade until I earned my Bachelors degree in education

5 Answers

Relevance
  • edward
    Lv 7
    5 months ago

Since when is paramedic a trade? And they don’t get paid enough for all they do

• Jason
    Lv 7
    5 months ago

Not really. It's an entry-level job that pays poorly. Even paramedics with a two-year degree don't make jack squat. EMT-B can get you in the door for some hospital jobs like ER tech that pay better, but in EMS it's barely enough to live on as a single person. Making a living in the back of an ambulance is not unlike making a living as a musician -- it can be done, but it takes years of living in poverty and working awful schedules before you get a glimpse of a decent career. Long hours, low pay, and no benefits are pretty much standard.

If you have other reasons for wanting to get your EMT certification, then, by all means, go for it. If it's just a means to make some money for a year or two, it's not worth it. You can find jobs that pay the same or better that don't require all of that time, effort, and hassle.

Best wishes.

Source(s): Respiratory therapist (B.S., RRT, RPFT) Former paramedic and USAF flight medic Working on my master's in nursing
    • Daniel
      Lv 7
      5 months agoReport

Some places have OK pay for paramedics. My local agency is paying $30/hr for full time (but only $20 for part time/on-call). Of course, cost of living here is high, though.

• Daniel
    Lv 7
    5 months ago

It would be difficult. An EMT-B (just doing EMS, not a firefighter/EMT) doesn't make a whole lot of money--less than $15/hr in most places.

Source(s): Experience in EMS
  • 5 months ago