How do car trade ins work?

If I’ve had my vehicle for a year and a half, and still owe money on my loan. How can I trade in my car? I’ve never done it before but just curious as we need something a bit more spacious

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

You take the vehicle you are planning on trading with you to a dealership, select the car you want to buy, and they will go about trying to give you as little for the old vehicle as possible.

Their first attempt will be to tell you they will 'pay off the old loan', but will actually try to roll that 'payout' into the cost of the new vehicle.

If you try to convince them to give you more for it, they will start to balk about the condition of the old vehicle, and cry about things like 'how much it will cost to put new tires on it' (even if the old tires are nearly new), etc.

Next, they will attempt to negotiate a car payment - this is a trick. Negotiate the *sales price* of the vehicle, and only then worry about payment/interest rates.

Car salesmen are not your friend, they only exist to sell cars to people for as much as possible, putting as much money in their pocket as they can. They can sense if you are a sucker, are uncomfortable/inexperienced with making large purchases, and will take you for a ride if you let them.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 6 months ago

Wow, you are utterly clueless. You really should not have a car, since you clearly know nothing about handling such matters.

It works like this: If you owe MORE money on the current car loan than the wholesale trade in value of the car is, you can't, unless you pony up money from YOUR pocket to cover that difference. So, if your car is worth as a trade in, say, $10,000, but you still owe $12,000, YOU would have to PAY $2,000 just to be rid of your current car.