Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceCareers & EmploymentHealth Care · 6 months ago

Alternative to plastic bags in healthcare?!?

I am an X-ray tech at a large hospital. For every patient we put our X-ray board inside a large plastic bag to prevent contamination instead of wiping the board down. I suggested only using them when there is a high risk or visible fluids. What other options are there? Is there an alternative that isn’t as wasteful and better for the environment?

All ideas welcome :)

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Jason
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

The first thing you should do is take a proper microbiology course with lab and follow that with an update on infection control. You have some VERY erroneous ideas about what infection control is, how it is practiced, why certain things are done in certain ways, etc.

Let me ask you this: Without getting a culture and looking up the results, how do you know if your patient has C-diff? Hepatitis A? Candida? There is no fluid or drainage from Hepatitis A. It's just a virus on your hands.

Now consider this: You don't see any fluids or drainage from your patient and YOUR MOM is the next one to get an x-ray. Tell me how you explain to her how you know that the person before her did not contaminate that board with viral hepatitis. How do you KNOW that board is not contaminated? Which one will convince your mom to put her skin against that board: Your explanation, or covering the board with a disposable bag?