Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiet & Fitness · 6 months ago

Why don't vegans eat honey? It actually comes from flowers, not from bees?

Update:

I meant that it is bees who make it, but the ingredients come from flowers. Probably nobody will read this, but that's what I meant

22 Answers

Relevance
  • Tyler
    Lv 5
    6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

    flowers do not have honey, they have nectar. the nectar is collected by the bees and once it is infused with their saliva, it becomes honey back in their hive. since it requires "animal labor" to produce, it is on par to them with drinking milk (which by some accounts is far worse - factory farming milk is no where near what it was 2 centuries ago).

    to me, bees produce an overabundance of honey and, if managed and harvested ethically, is perfectly fine to eat. and unlike eggs and milk, the vast majority of honey is produced by smaller, ethical producers.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    6 months ago

    Similary, cows are made of grass & little lambs eat ivy.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 6 months ago

    The honey is actually produced by the bees though. It’s not just ‘excreted’ from the flowers somehow.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • patty
    Lv 5
    6 months ago

    comes from the bee so vegans won't like it

    • Login to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 6 months ago

    Probably because they don't consume sugars. Honey is essentially sugar.

    • ...Show all comments
    • Sara
      Lv 7
      6 months agoReport

      They didn't say it's an essential sugar. They said it's essentially (ie. basically) sugar.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    6 months ago

    Because the word “vegan” means a person who consumes absolutely NO animal products at all: NOTHING that comes from or is produced by an animal.

    A person who eats honey is NOT a vegan.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    6 months ago

    That's like saying vegans should eat beef because cows come from grass/hay.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 6 months ago

    As other people are pointing out, bees make the honey. Also to successfully farm honey, you have to interfere with bee's natural habitat, have them live in artificial hives, etc. As far as I know, the bees aren't hurt in any way in the process, and therefore vegans differ as to whether honey is OK or not. I'm a vegan, and I don't freak out if I find out that something's got honey in it. But technically speaking it isn't vegan because at the very least it interferes with bee's natural life, and also it is stolen from them.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    6 months ago

    It's bee barf. They eat the pollen and then make it into honey inside themselves, then barf it up. Alcohol is yeast poop BTW. There's a long and boring argument to "bee" had here as to if bees are animals and thus animal products but then, aren't seeds living things although not animals too and thus eating plants is also wrong and all this is bullshit? But we'll save that for another day.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    6 months ago

    It’s bee puke..

    • Angel
      Lv 4
      6 months agoReport

      Not quite.

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.