Steve asked in Games & RecreationCard Games · 7 months ago

Does Blackwing - Nothung the Starlight still inflict 800 damage to me if i don't control a face up monster?

Here is the effect, it's a synchro monster:

If this card is Special Summoned: Inflict 800 damage to your opponent, then 1 face-up monster your opponent controls loses 800 ATK and DEF. You can only use this effect of "Blackwing - Nothung the Starlight" once per turn. During your Main Phase, you can Normal Summon 1 "Blackwing" monster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.)

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Cantra
    Lv 7
    7 months ago
    Favorite Answer

    Yes. When a card effect instructs you, in this specific way, to 'Do A, 'then', do B', you can't do 'B' if you don't do 'A', but you can still do 'A' even if you can't do 'B'.

    If it said one face-up opponent's monster loses 800ATK and DEF, then inflict 800 damage to your opponent (this does not target, the monster is picked on resolution), then it would deal no damage to you if you had no monster to apply the reduction to.

    With the current wording, it will deal damage to you regardless, and then the second part of the effect will simply fail to be applied if there is nothing to apply it to.

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.