Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureCommunity Service · 7 months ago

Am I write to feel violated... or am I being dramatic?

I work as a volunteer in a charity organisation which provides advice on social issues. I saw a man who I helped and did a lot for. When he left he gave me a squeezed hug and I moved away a bit, and he continued going forward and kissed me on the cheek. I froze and just laughed but I feel disgusting? Am I right to feel that way or am I being dramatic

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago

No, but you should look into sensitivity training to help you deal with those you work with. As a professional my self we are told never allow clients to touch or hold you or vise Versa. It is just not ethical procedure.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Janet
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

Your emotions are always valid. In fact, one of the first things you learn taking university psychology, is that emotions are neither right nor wrong. but choices and actions can be right or wrong.

What may or may not be valid is your ACTIONS.

You have an emotional, moral, legal and unalienable right to choose whether or not others can touch you.

But what others do should not change how you feel about yourself.

As for this man, many people grow up in families where you hug and/or kiss on the cheek. This is normal to them. So the challenge here is how well YOU work with YOUR emotional responses. From what you say, it doesn't sound as if you have much mastery or skill at handling your emotions and may be somewhat a slave to your subconscious patterns.

• Anonymous
    7 months ago

You are not allowed to discriminate and it is a criminal offense.

• Larry K.
      Lv 7
      7 months agoReport

....and this is supposed to answer the question??

• 7 months ago