Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Social SciencePsychology · 1 year ago

How do I do things I don't want to do?

So, I'm in my early 20s, and I'm unemployed and not attending college. I graduated high school a few years ago (with mostly Cs), and I turned down college and refused employment (I tried volunteering at a few places, but never lasted long at any of them). The reason of all this is because I am very stubborn and only want to live life "my way." I am a huge Disney addict and spend hours watching their cartoons/movies and listening to music. I understand this lifestyle isn't healthy and would like to change it. I have a friend who is the opposite of me, he is a workaholic and has been very successful in life. He'll do things that seem difficult/unpleasant, has a bachelors degree, and is traveling the world (he's also a big Disney fan and is working with them). He says he can never stop working. I'm very jealous of him and wish I had his strong motivation to work. If I don't get what I want, I'll throw a tantrum. If he doesn't get what he wants, he's deals with it. I have such a hard time getting off the screens, taking my mind off Disney/cartoons, and doing something I dislike, but I understand we often have to deny ourselves in order to be successful in life. I'm terrible at doing that! Whenever I try to, I'll rage! I don't even brush or floss my teeth everyday, I haven't clipped my toenails in so long, and I know that really needs to change! I want to be a responsible workaholic just like my friend, but don't know how to start. How do I change?

Update: