andy asked in SportsMartial Arts · 6 months ago

What martial art is more effective MMA or Japanese Jiu jitsu?

There are 2 schools near me one has classes in MMA and the other does Japanese jiu jitsu and I’m stuck between which one to go to. What art do you find you get the most out in terms of confidence and practicality?

Thanks

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago

MMA is not a style. MMA is Mixed Martial Arts. There are dozens of mixed martial arts like: Jeet Kune Do or Ketsugo or Wado Ryu karate. The most common mixture of martial arts has always been a Judo/Karate/Jiu jitsu combination (like Shorinji Kempo). There are about 200 styles of Jiu-Jitsu. My style is Hakko-Ryu jiu jitsu. I studied Judo, Goju Ryu Karate, and Hakko Ryu jiu jitsu since 1968. I actually worked out with Billy Blanks (Kempo) in the 1970s at his former Quincy, MA. dojo.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 6 months ago

It's what more effective for you. If you make a long term commitment to koryu jujutsu because it turns out you love it-that's effective for you. If you take up MMA and get bored with it after six months-that's ineffective. Or it could be the revere. Give both a try is my advice. Not to be a pendant but koryu is the correct term as it means "old school", as apposed to "new" martial arts like karatedo and judo. Jujutsu is much better romanization than "juijitsu".

• Anonymous
    6 months ago

mma is not a martial art its a sport

effectiveness depends,on how,you train and your instructor

• Noah
    Lv 4
    6 months ago

In my opinion i think you should go jiu jitsu it does just grappling which I have found is much more effective for street fights and it has defense against weapons.

Just make sure it's not aikido most of those are mcdojo.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Megumi
    Lv 6
    6 months ago

MMA is just a sport, so Jiu Jitsu is better for real fights.

• Sandra K
      Lv 6
      6 months agoReport