Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiseases & ConditionsInfectious Diseases · 6 months ago

Terrified of rabies?

Hi everyone, so I'm a vet tech at a local small animal hospital so we see a lot of unvaccinated/ not up to date cats and dogs. I haven't actually been bitten by anything (other than a dog that nipped at my finger but didn't break the skin), but being the hypochondriac that I am, every time I get scratched by an unvaccinated cat or dog (which happens a lot during nail trims, vaccines, X-Rays, etc.) I FREAK out. Needless to say I get scratched up a lot at work and often these scratches break the skin. I know that rabies is very rare in the US and that most human cases come from raccoon/bat bites but I can't help but worry. Thanks in advance for any advice :)

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Lauren
    Lv 6
    6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

The majority of pets you see would never have rabies, even if they were unvaccinated, but it's still good to have a healthy sense of worry over it. You can receive the rabies series of 3 vaccines for yourself (although it's expensive and it may be difficult to find a place that will do it. It's not a common vaccine for people to get a pre-exposure rabies series). You would still need to receive treatment if you got bit by a potentially rabid animal, however, but it would be less vaccines that you would need at that point. Veterinarians are vaccinated against rabies at least once in their lives.

However, that's unlikely to actually help the issue with hypochondria. Hypochondria doesn't always listen to reason. This is something that you may want to address with someone in your life who you can trust.