Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHigher Education (University +) · 8 months ago

How do I find out what I want to do with my life? (at 18 years old)?

I'm 18 and about to leave for college (my major is Nursing). I thought I had it all planned out, but now I'm not sure what I want to do. In addition to feeling lost/unsure, I feel like if I don't choose the right thing, I will feel like I missed out on something. When I was younger, I was never in any extracurricular activities. I played the flute in band class (5th grade-senior year) and I didn't really like it. I only did it because my mom wanted me to go to a certain school. Please give me any advice you can, and thank you in advance.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 months ago

If you're thinking nursing - but are not 100% sure - go to a Vocational/Licensed Practical Nursing program. They are only 1 year (instead of 2 for a Associate RN or 4 for a BS RN) and then you can start working. If you like it, there are LPN to RN "bridge" programs where you work and attend classes (and, if you are in a nursing shortage area, your hospital employer will usually pay for your schooling).

If, after obtaining your LPN you decide you don't like nursing all that much, well, you can still attend school for something else while you work as a PT LPN.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 7 months ago

Do various things with it.

At your age I wanted to be a musician and composer and bought a bunch of instruments - clarinet, viola, trompet, guitar - and classes to achieve that goal. Soon later I realized it was difficult, didn't pay well and took a long time for me to sound even decently, thus I quit.