Does anyone understand the 'review' laws in the World Cup Cricket? If you do can you explain this please.. details to follow...?
England bowl, it looks like LBW but the umpire says 'not-out'. England appeal and the referee looks for a no-ball....fine, then checks for a nick...fine...then when they check to see if the ball was going to hit the stumps the find it WAS..yet the 'not-out' is upheld. What is the point of a review then?
- the illuminatiLv 48 months agoFavorite Answer
There is a small margin for error allowed. The ball tracking must show that at least half of the ball would have contacted with the wicket to overturn the decision, if the ball just grazes the stump or bail as happened with the decision you are referring to there is not enough evidence to overrule the umpire so the original decision stands. If the ball had shown to be hitting the wicket a few centimetres lower that would have been sufficient for it to have been given out, its just the limitation of the technology has to give the benefit of doubt in the batsmans favour.
- BJJLv 78 months ago
Each team are only allowed one review per innings
I think you're referring to the Roy dismissal
England had already used theirs
Roy was clearly not out but the umpire did think so
- Anonymous8 months ago
Basically whichever team pays off the refs gets the advantage. It's usually India or England which explains why the Windies, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh are constantly getting shafted whenever they play against either.