Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsRunning · 7 months ago

I’m a freshman running cross country and I need help.?

I have my time trial in a few days and I can’t even run without stopping. I have to walk. And I don’t want to walk during my three mile time trial, it’s the first one and I don’t wanna be the person who walks. I can barely run 1 mile let alone 3, how can I run without stopping

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Todd
    Lv 7
    7 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Do a fast jog. Hey, you might get a bad time, but it's only the first trial. My firt race, I got a 24 min.

Anyway, here's a trick that sometimes works. 2 tricks, actually. One is long term. You can't run at speed comfortably without practice. The other is a tip from a team member. Imagine there is a rope pulling you. That simple.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 7 months ago

I’ve run a 5k in cross country a lot and let me tell you my friends are sooooo much faster than me but they ALWAYS walk. It’s because they run so fast and then take a break where I run at a slow pace but never stop. So you options are either run slow and you won’t stop or run how you do and don’t care if you stop because even the best stop

• Adam D
    Lv 7
    7 months ago

"I can't do something. How can I change this in 3 days?"

You can't. Do your best, and keep training. Cross country generally has plenty of room for people on junior varsity. Take this opportunity to learn all you can about fitness and improving at the sport so you can come into your sophomore year in better shape and give yourself a shot at the varsity team.

• 7 months ago

Sorry, but with only a few days, there isn't much advice we can give that will help you. Also, there isn't much you can do. Also, three days isn't enough time for training to have an effect.