Robert asked in SportsMartial Arts · 5 months ago

Do you think martial arts works in real life if needed?

16 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

During my younger days while going to college and in the reserves I supplemented my income with tending bar as well as ran a couple of them.  I even went to work at one point for a nationwide company that had a chain of gentlemen's clubs.  Some of those places were or could be pretty rough sometimes and I was not a big guy at only 5'10" and 165 lbs.  My training in martial and fighting arts served be quite well several times when I had to deal with someone on a physical level and in some of those cases they were bigger, stronger individuals than myself.  You have to remember also though that I studied and had trained in martial arts for several years already before this.  That was before many of the schools became watered down and classes made fun and for everyone and also marketed towards females also.  Back then the training was hard core and no nonsense and also the amount of contact was harder because this was before things like safety gear and this country becoming sue happy.

The problem with martial arts today is that classes have been watered down and the standards for promotion lowered to keep students motivated, coming and paying to continue their training.  That and they don't have to work and train for several years to acquire a black belt in most styles or types of martial arts and especially the more popular ones.  Instead a person can acquire a black belt in three years or less in a lot of cases and that is with only training a few times a week for an hour.  That is totally inadequate for most to develop their skills to a sufficient level to  defend themselves in a lot of cases

• 5 months ago

Yes martial arts does work in real life, but sometimes in some situations it will not work.