Clarify- do you have a actual drivers license issued after testing? - but just didn't have it with you at the time? OR, are you a 'unlicensed 'driver that never got a license or had license pulled for silly things like drunk driving, hitting police car while texting? BIG difference, not having license on person is minor administrative rule violation or at best misdemeanor and might be taken care of by clerk of court a few days before appearance date by showing good license. Owner of vehicle repairs light, gets police officer to look at light and ticket, sign off that working as of date. that and proof of insurance plus license 10 days before appearance date would get charges non suited by clerk for administrative costs- nominal cost- $25.00 each and processing fee of $10.00 to $50.00 in Iowa., Illinois not much more . Pulled license or no license - now you're in serious trouble, car wold likely to have been impounded and you would have been processed at jail.