What happens if you choose a military major at your college?

I am not very knowledgeable when it comes to military stuff so I'm not sure what happens. I'm currently in my first year (undeclared) and the college I attend offers a program in Military Science, which is within the school's Army ROTC program but it's a major on its own.

If I was to go into this major, would I be required to join the military? The program description says it trains students to become military officers while implementing a science background. Obtaining military training sounds like a big achievement and all but I do not wanna become contracted to join the service as that is not my intended career path. Thank you for your help!

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Yeah, that degree would be worthless for you, even if you could get into the program without joining.

If you think it'll prepare you for a civilian sector job in the DoD or intelligence community, it won't. Find an Intelligence Studies program. Or get a Computer Science degree.

• Anonymous
      Lv 5
      6 months agoReport

My main reason for interest in this program is wanting to enter government jobs. You provided a good point there so I will select you as a best answer.

• 5 months ago

Then choose something practical like medicine or science. I don't see the point in military studies if you don't intend on working for the DoD in some capacity the rest of your life.

• Anonymous
    6 months ago

You don't. We wouldn't want you to have a bad boss who they call the screaming eagle....

• 6 months ago

There is NO SUCH THING as a military major in college.

ROTC IS NOT a major. It is a program under which the military pays for your education in exchange for you COMMITTING to serve as an officer for a predetermined term of service.

Note: You have to join BEFORE you are admitted into ROTC.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • JetDoc
    Lv 7
    6 months ago