- Anonymous6 months agoFavorite Answer
A traditional hummus recipe is vegan - and it's very, very easy to make great hummus at home.
Sometimes they put unexpected ingredients in store-bought or restaurant food so you have to read the ingredients or ask. I've actually seen hummus with parmesan - maybe they were trying to make it more like pesto? I've also seen nacho cheese hummus. I know, right?
- 5 months ago
Yes because they are on a diet.
- geezerLv 76 months ago
Yes .. it should be.
It's just mashed Chick Peas, Tahini (Sesame Seed paste), Garlic, Vegetable Oil, Lemon Juice and whatever spices you want to add (I usually add Cumin).
- Jeff HLv 76 months ago
Traditional hummus is vegan however there are some variations out there which may only qualify as vegetarian.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- CrustyCurmudgeonLv 76 months ago
Traditionally, it's made from sesame seed paste and ground chickpeas. If that's the case, veg away.
- 6 months ago
Yes if you make it yourself. It can be just legumes such as chick-peas, ans some lemon juice.
Store bought Hummus *might* be vegan, depending on what gunk the manufacturer feels compelled to put in it. Read the label.
Personally I make my own, it is so easy. As for store bought: I would be more worried about the incredible amount of salt they load into it rather than whether it is vegan or not.
- BethLv 46 months ago
Yes, it is vegan
- ckngbbblsLv 76 months ago
When I made it as a restaurant it was just cooked garbanzo beans, lemon juice, garlic,cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, tahini and vegetable oil.
- 6 months ago
Yes! Hummus is made of chickpeas, which are plants.
- Anonymous6 months ago
really don't care ................IT'S TERRIBLE !!!!