Ky asked in PetsOther - Pets · 1 year ago

Is hummus vegan?

17 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 year ago
    Favorite Answer

    A traditional hummus recipe is vegan - and it's very, very easy to make great hummus at home.

    Sometimes they put unexpected ingredients in store-bought or restaurant food so you have to read the ingredients or ask. I've actually seen hummus with parmesan - maybe they were trying to make it more like pesto? I've also seen nacho cheese hummus. I know, right?

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 year ago

    Yes because they are on a diet.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • geezer
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

    Yes .. it should be.

    It's just mashed Chick Peas, Tahini (Sesame Seed paste), Garlic, Vegetable Oil, Lemon Juice and whatever spices you want to add (I usually add Cumin).

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Jeff H
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

    Traditional hummus is vegan however there are some variations out there which may only qualify as vegetarian.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 year ago

    Traditionally, it's made from sesame seed paste and ground chickpeas. If that's the case, veg away.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Yes if you make it yourself. It can be just legumes such as chick-peas, ans some lemon juice.

    Store bought Hummus *might* be vegan, depending on what gunk the manufacturer feels compelled to put in it. Read the label.

    Personally I make my own, it is so easy. As for store bought: I would be more worried about the incredible amount of salt they load into it rather than whether it is vegan or not.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Beth
    Lv 5
    1 year ago

    Yes, it is vegan

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 year ago

    typically yes.

    When I made it as a restaurant it was just cooked garbanzo beans, lemon juice, garlic,cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, tahini and vegetable oil.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 year ago

    Yes! Hummus is made of chickpeas, which are plants.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 year ago

    really don't care ................IT'S TERRIBLE !!!!

    • Ky1 year agoReport

      Then why feel the need to answer? Useless comment.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.