When can a child be out of a car seat and into a booster seat?
- Jim MoorLv 76 months ago
Since I'm in California, I'll answer for my state:
Current California Law:
Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat. (California Vehicle Code Section 27360.)
Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4’9” in height may be secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be secured by a safety belt. (California Vehicle Code Section 27363.)
Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.
When can a child graduate to a booster seat?
California law does not address graduation time from a five point harness to a booster seat. In the interest of safety, do not rush to move a child into a booster seat before they’re ready. Each time you “graduate” your child to the next seat, there’s a reduction in the level of protection for your child. Keep your child in each stage for as long as possible.
A child is ready for a booster seat when they have outgrown the weight or height limit of their forward-facing harnesses, which is typically between 40 and 65 pounds. Read the forward-facing car seat’s owner’s manual to determine height and weight limits, and keep your child in a harnessed seat for as long as possible.
Children at this stage are not yet ready for adult safety belts and should use belt-positioning booster seats until they are at least 4’9″ and between 8 and 12 years old. Safety belts are designed for 165-pound male adults, so it’s no wonder that research shows poorly fitting adult belts can injure childrenSource(s): Here's a link for all states: https://bestcarseathub.com/blog/usa-car-seat-laws-...
- Obi Wan KnievelLv 76 months ago
You do know there are no international child seat laws, right?
And you do know that you completely forgot to mention where you live, right?
- oklatomLv 76 months ago
When does a child go from car seat to booster?
All 50 states have laws requiring your child to be properly restrained in a car seat, usually until he's at least 7 years old. Also, most states now require children to ride in booster seats until they weigh 60 pounds or more, or are a certain age or height.
- STEPHENLv 76 months ago
Look at the laws that apply where you are. There are no worldwide rules and it depends on age/height/weight.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- mermelizLv 76 months ago
Depends on your child's age and height. Most children outgrow an infant seat by the age of 1, then must use a child seat until they are either 8 years old or at least 4'9" tall.
Children age 8 or older, or is 4’9” or taller, he/she may use the vehicle seat belt if it fits well. The lap belt must be low on his/her hips and touch his/her upper thighs. The shoulder belt must cross the center of her chest.
- 6 months ago
you will feel it , i am sure
- 6 months ago
When you feel comfortable letting the child sit in a booster. There is no rule, really, just not really small children (A few years of age).
- JimLv 76 months ago
When your local law says so.