How do you properly tune a snare drum?

I got a used drum kit from goodwill today for $50 and out of it was a really nice sounding cheap snare drum made by a company called mendini. The snare had a really nice pop sound when hit . So I decided to change the batter head to a coated head since the batterhead it originally had wasn’t coated at all and was just colored white. So since I changed heads and put the tensions rods back on it just sounds like a rack Tom drum with a lot of overtones and the rims vibrate more the head when the drum is hit. And I don’t really know how to properly tune drums since I’m a beginner

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Me2
    Lv 7
    6 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Jack, you can waste years trying to learn drum tuning without instruction.  Seek out a professional percussionist, holding an associate degree or better, who also plays the drum kit.

Mog's advice, "...tap on the head next to each lug ... Each lug should have exactly the same pitch" is correct, and essential to drum tuning.

To make the task considerably easier, use a simple accessory — a cloth damper disc 1/4 inch (6mm) thick and 1/2 inch (13mm) diameter, with a 5 ounce (150g) weight (figures are approximate) — placed at the exact center of the head.  This causes the drum to sound an octave higher, and eliminates many overtones that obscure the pitch.

Rest the drum on a cushion to prevent the opposite head vibrating.

Adjust the internal damper (if present) to disable it.  Completely loosen all lugs on the top (batter) head.  To do this, always turn one lug and then the opposite lug 1/2 turn.  Assuming the drum has eight lugs, numbered clockwise 1 to 8, they are loosened (or tightened) in the order

[1  5]  [3  7]  [2  6]  [4  8]