If a diabetic eats a whole slice of cake, can it kill them?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • audrey
    Lv 7
    8 months ago
    Favorite Answer

No. It will just boost their sugar count.

• 7 months ago

I am a pharmacy student. Eating a "whole slice of cake" most likely won't kill someone with diabetes. Doing so will probably raise that person's blood sugar, and could raise it to a dangerous level if they eat a lot of cake. Having high sugars in the long run can lead to serious health concerns. Consistently high sugars can lead to blindness, neuropathy (nerve pain), and even amputation. Low blood sugars can also lead to complications like fainting, confusion, and in extreme cases death. A healthy blood sugar is 80-130 fasting or without eating for a while, and 130-180 after a meal if you are an adult. Be sure to talk to your doctor about your goals, as they can change from person to person.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 7 months ago

No, a regular size piece of cake will not kill a type 1 diabetic even if they do not take enough insulin. I have Little Debbie and Hostess snack cakes and pecan cinnamon pinwheels and orange juice for breakfast all the time. My kidneys are not failing and I am NOT insulin resistant. I can be very insulin sensitive.

I've been a type 1 diabetic for 64 YEARS and counting since I was 2 years old. I have no clear memories of NOT being a type 1 diabetic.

One thing Ive learned is that EACH diabetic is unique, no matter what type of diabetes they have. I've also learned some doctors and some PAs can be idiots when they put you on oral medications and insulin and consistently overdose you with too much insulin and then leave short acting insulin off the nursing home orders. The nurses and CNAs. I had viral pneumonia and acute respiratory distress syndrome 9 years ago.

Excuse me. It's lunch time.

• 7 months ago

Only if you choke on it ... or it has arsenic in it.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.