Is it possible for one person to live in a house while it's being rewired (UK) - and the kitchen being replaced?

19 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago

My husband and I carried on living in our house in England while central heating was being installed in every room. It was hell but we managed.

• 6 months ago

Hi,

I’m an electrician in uk (check us out at elec-inn.co.uk ) we carry our full rewires on a regular basis.

It is always preferable that customers move out during the works but it is not always practicable.

The main issue is dust. We use dustless extraction machines but it is still a dusty process . From a safety point of view this shouldn’t be an issue as your contractor will be able to ensure everything is carried out in safety.

Source(s): Https://elec-in.co.uk
    • M.
      Lv 7
      6 months agoReport

Fix the error in your Source(s)!

• JASON
    Lv 5
    6 months ago

Working for a rental company that does this with its properties, yes. Personally I don't think it's right.

• 6 months ago

it would be unsafe to use any electrical power while this electrical work is being done.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 6 months ago

Do it in the fair weather months with a take away menu handy.

• hooray
    Lv 5
    6 months ago

Not hard at all. No need to do without services during the project, even while working. Power only needs to be entirely off for transferring over to a new consumer unit. Everything else can be isolated and electricity is trivially easy to organise temporarily. Plumbing is also easily isolated and not difficult to arrange temporary provision.