Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsPhotography · 5 months ago

HELP WITH FILM PHOTOGRAPHY! Grainy/Underexposed?

I’m new to film photography and just got these back... I used film a friend gave me so I’m thinking it could be expired and since I live in Florida it gets really hot and I would occasionally leave it in the car. Do you think these problems would be resolved with new film or should I play with my camera settings?

Attachment image

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Frank
    Lv 7
    5 months ago
    Best Answer

This cannot be a user error (i.e. bad settings).

This could have been due to the film being old; There could be a light leak in the camera; Poor processing of the film; Improper storage of the film or a combination of these possibilities.

My guess is that the age of the film would likely not cause this bad of a result. Instead, I think the likely problem is a light leak in the camera or you (someone else) may have accidentally opened the camera and fogged the film.

Usually when film gets old, it often results in a loss of light sensitivity along with a color shift. This color shift is even across the entire film and not blotchy like you see in your posted example. I've never seen old film react like your posted example and I worked for several years in a camera shop during the days of film.