promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Child Citizenship Act of 2000?

Hello,

When I was 15-17 I lived with my mother in the US. I was a permanent resident at the time, and my mother became a citizen when I was 17.

I just found out I became a US citizen by this act, however I am now 21 and reside in another country. I do want to go back to the United States- do I just apply for the passport or would it just be easier to get a tourist visa and then petition again?

Update:

EDIT:

I did not leave the US until I was 18, but my mom became a citizen when I was 17 and living with her.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 12 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Apply for the passport:

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/passpor...

U.S. Citizenship through Naturalization of a Parent

If you were born outside the United States and acquired U.S. citizenship through the naturalization of your parent(s), please submit the following with your passport application:

Your foreign birth certificate listing your parent(s)

Your parent(s)’ naturalization certificate

Evidence of your permanent residence status. Examples include:

Permanent Resident Card/Green Card

Foreign passport with the original I-551 visa entry stamp

Your parents' marriage certificate (if your parents were married when you legally entered the U.S. and before your 18th birthday)

Documentation of legal custody (if your parents were not married when you legally entered the U.S.)

Evidence of your legitimation (if your parents were not married at the time of your birth). Examples include:

Your parents' marriage certificate dated after your birth

Certified court order of legitimation

Please see U.S. Citizenship Laws & Policy for more information.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 12 months ago