Jane asked in Science & MathematicsGeography · 8 months ago

What does it mean when a direction is by itself?

Like, west by west or east by north. Sometimes it's really long, like north by north by north by north or something like that. What does this mean?


Not sure if this is the right category for this question, but it's the best I could find.

4 Answers

  • 8 months ago
    Favorite Answer

    In the USA, the only names of this kind that are officially sanctioned are: north by east, north by west, east by north, east by south, south by east, south by west, west by north, and west by south.

    Each of the above points is 1/32 of a circle away from one of the cardinal points (N, E, S, or W). That's 11.25 degrees. The first direction in the name is the primary direction that the point is NEAR; the second direction tells the direction of the 11.25-degree deflection. For example, south by west is almost due south, but not quite: it's exactly 11.25 degrees west of due south.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 8 months ago

    The answer by "az_lender" is correct.

    Dg is incorrect

    billrussell42 gave an answer that did not address your question.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • D g
    Lv 7
    8 months ago

    you are stating them incorrectly but it is a direction only

    NW ... is north west or N by west

    it is another way of saying part way between north and west

    NNW .. is North by North West

    that is direction half way between North and NW

    since we know NW is half way between N and W

    then North by North West is 1/4 the way away from NORTH to the west

    it will always be made of directions that are 90 DEGS to each other

    E and W are 90 degs to South and North

    so you will have South by SE

    but never North by SouthE to my knowledge

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 8 months ago

    The points of the compass mark the divisions on a compass, which is primarily divided into the four cardinal directions: north, south, east, and west. These points are further subdivided by the addition of the four intercardinal (or ordinal) directions—northeast (NE), southeast (SE), southwest (SW), and northwest (NW)—to indicate the eight principal winds. In meteorological usage, further intermediate points between the cardinal and intercardinal directions, such as north-northeast (NNE) are added to give the sixteen points of a compass rose.

    Attachment image
    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.